Mozart Requiem and Vespers – Saturday 8th April

Mozart Requiem and Solemn Vespers

Saturday 8 April 2017, 7.30pm

Swansea Philharmonic Choir

British Sinfonietta

Conductor: Jonathan Rogers

Soprano: Eve Daniell

Alto: Sioned Gwen Davies

Tenor: David Fortey

Bass: Meilir Jones

Pre-concert talk with Jonathan Rogers – 6pm

Mozart –  Vesperae solennes de confessore, (K. 339)

Mozart – Requiem Mass in D minor (K. 626)

Mozart’s Vesperae solennes de confessore,  consists of 6 movements and was composed in 1780 and is particularly known for its 5th movement, the Laudate Dominum, which is set as a highly melismatic soprano solo.

The Requiem Mass in D minor (K. 626) was composed in Vienna in 1791 and left unfinished at the composer’s death on December 5. A completed work dated 1792 by Franz Xaver Süssmayr was delivered to Count Franz von Walsegg, who had anonymously commissioned the piece to commemorate the anniversary of his wife’s death.